My Sense8 Pride Story

Writers note: This entry has changed many times since I began writing. Even though I have two prior posts that are based around Sense8, somehow, I still gravitated back to this theme. Instead of forcing myself in a different direction, I am just going with it. Please enjoy.


We should be used to the cancellation of shows. The Big 4 U.S. Networks (ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC) do this all the time. Many times, we are not able to find closure with storylines. My first experience with this (as an adult) was when I began to watch the 1970’s show, “Soap” when it went into syndication.

The point of a show is to draw the people into this universe where the characters live. We have lived in San Francisco with the Charmed ones. We lived in Sunnydale with The Slayer. And more recently, we lived in a world with sensates.

Each world lives in fear of ceasing to exist, and before going on a break, they will entice us to come back by leaving us with a cliffhanger. There are shows, such as “Brothers & Sisters” who didn’t know from one season to the next if they would be renewed so they would end their seasons (at least seasons 2 & 3) on a note of some type of conclusion. By the end of season 4, we were left with a resolution, and when the word came later in the summer they would not return, we were left somewhat satisfied.

When I got to the end of season 2 of Sense8 and saw how J. Michael Straczynski and the Wachowski’s left us hanging, I was excited to see when season 3 would start filming (even if it would have been two years). However, the world was shocked to hear that Netflix chose not to renew Sense8.

The fact this decision has upset people and multiple petitions have been circulating to bring back the show has put a smile on my face. I fell in love with the show when it originally aired in 2015 but did not actively participate in the fandom until season two aired.  Hearing stories about how this show has impacted lives of people around the world creates an even deeper love for J. Michael Straczynski and Lily & Lana Wachowski and the universe they created.

June has been dubbed Pride Month in the U.S. as a remembrance to the Stonewall raid in the 1960’s. Season one of Sense8 opened with Nomi & Amanita preparing for San Francisco Pride, with Nomi riding in the parade. Season two we witness Lito, Hernando & Dani going to Brazil for Lito to be the Grand Marshall in the Sao Paulo Pride festival.

What makes this such a monumental occasion is that in reality, the entire main cast of Sense8 attended Sao Paulo Pride. The show, which brought together people from all over the world as one cohesive unit, came together in our world as one cohesive unit. As a gay man who lives in a liberal town of a closed-minded southern state, this scene alone made me feel proud.

As I read posts on social media by fans from all over the world and all walks of life, I see how much the creators brought the fiction of Sense8 into the real world (or are we in the Matrix?). Ok, that was a little side humor, smile.

I see posts from straight parents who fell in love with this show as it opened up an incredible world for their LGBTQ children and grandchildren. I see in my own life how much this show has impacted my sanity and outlook by the life that was given to Lito. Even though I am in a healthy place in my life, the emotion I felt when a fan of Lito’s gave him a hug when he felt his world crash down was indescribable.

Even though I am filled with pride (pardon the pun) and joy, I still look back at the people who lived in a time before they were able to be the people God created. People like Bobby Griffith (see the book/movie, “Prayers for Bobby”) lived during a time when information was not readily available, and the only way he could relieve the pain and torment was to take his own life.

Even today, we still have concentration camps set up by the church to ‘heal’ the disease of homosexuality. The church feels thinks that because they do this, “In The Name Of God,” they are doing good. We live in a society where Whispers is the church, and the only way to get them out of our head and to keep others safe is to take our own life

Throughout the years, the LGBTQ community has been given some airtime from shows like “Maude” and “Soap” in the 70’s to “Dallas” (or “Knots Landing”) and “Roseanne” and “Will & Grace” in the 80’s & 90’s. Even with “Buffy The Vampire Slayer” at the turn of the century, we still are oppressed and hated by the majority of the world solely based on who we love.

We live in a world where we get the latest news updates as they happen. We are making dramatic advances in science and medicine, and we even have robots vacuum our floors. However, when it comes to issues of the heart, we are stuck in the prehistoric days of hatred and violence. Some would rather disown family members than to live outside of their protective bubble of God & Jesus.

I focus on pride month & Sense8 because of the inclusiveness and love that is shown to all walks of life. My heart aches to live in a world where my faith is accepting of me no matter who I love. I yearn to live in a society where my uniqueness is not feared nor cast aside because I do not fit inside the box someone else has built. This is my wish, but this is not going to happen in my lifetime.

I look back on my journey and stand proud of the man I have become. This road has not been the roughest, nor has it been the easiest. I am Nomi, Will, Riley, Capheus, Kala, Wolfgang, Sun, and Lito. I am me, but I am also We!

2 thoughts on “My Sense8 Pride Story

Add yours

  1. Thanks for this article. One problem: no mention at all of co-creator/co-writer J. Michael Straczynski. He should have full credit also.

    Like

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑