I Am Also A We

Sense8 has aired their finale. Whether or not this show continues, the impact it has made on society is beyond words.

From the beginning, this show captured my attention and my heart. It was more than just appreciation for pretty people, I need substance. From the moment we met Angelica to the moment Nomi’s uttered the now famous, “I am a We,” the first episode hit the ground running and never stopped.

It wasn’t until after the second season aired that I reached out over social media and realized Sense8 was more than a show, it was a movement. As a gay, liberal man living in the red Southern United States, love and acceptance is not a virtue that is held by the public.

When I first watched the show, I was hooked. To better understand the gravity of that, there have only been two other shows that had me hooked from just one episode. The first was Buffy The Vampire Slayer, and the other was Wynonna Earp. The multiple storylines at once can become confusing, but the way we were introduced to each of the Sense8’s, you were able to follow.

Nomi, Will, Lito, Riley, Sun, Capheus, Wolfgang, and Kala have all been etched into our hearts as heroes. More than that, the people who portray these characters are just as dear to us, if not more. I not only grew up in the deep religious south United States but the first twenty-five years of my life were spent in the church. Fear ruled my life. What I would have given to have a Will or Dani in my life during that time. Actually, to have any of the cast in my life would have been great.

The reason why I put Sense8 in the same category as Buffy The Vampire Slayer & Wynonna Earp is the underlying theme. I saw a video clip of Lana Wachowski recently talking about just a little of the inspiration behind the show. One of the things she spoke on was the lack of positive LGBTQ+ representation. While shows like Will & Grace are a strong presence, in the end, it’s a comedy and explores a stereotype.

Sense8, for me, followed (somewhat) in the footsteps of Buffy The Vampire Slayer. There was a line Lito said, and in the spirit of being somewhat spoiler free, I will not give the reference, but he said, “Whatever you decide, remember you don’t have to do it alone.”

Everyone in the cluster was dealing with situations where they felt isolated. Without fail, another cluster member would show up and help. Will didn’t think twice when Nomi was being held in the hospital about to be lobotomized. Wolfgang gladly stood with Lito when he stood up to Joaquin. Even outside of the cluster, Bug didn’t hesitate to help Nomi & Amanita when she or any the sensies were in trouble.

The love extended well beyond the borders of the show from the official Sense8 profiles to the fan based groups, not even a language barrier can keep the clusters from showering each other with love. When someone speaks of the connection to the fandom, there is an unspoken bond that forms. The boundaries which separate us are torn apart, and a global cluster is born.

The idea of the ‘cluster’ is more than a thought. It is more than words. It is a promise. I promise to be a voice for those who cannot speak. I promise to stand up for those who cannot fight. I promise to never let someone face the darkness alone.

What started as a cross-genre show in 2015, quickly morphed into a global phenomenon. I didn’t officially join the social media fan base until the second season, but my love for the show and its creators had me from the beginning. I cannot tell you what got me hooked because I cannot pinpoint just one scene. Nomi’s vlog speech played a part, but it wasn’t only that scene in the first episode.

The pull of the show is more than just the overall story arcs and themes, a lot has to do with the cast. Yes, there was an actor who chose not to continue, there have been no harsh words or negative attitudes toward him. I have seen pictures of fans interacting with the actors, and I am amazed (and a little jealous). Not only does the cast love the fans, but they also take part in pride.

We live in a society where differences are feared rather than embraced, yet these cast members proudly display their love of what makes us all unique.

We may or may not have the opportunity to continue to be part of the lives of this family, but we were given a rare chance to resolve some unfinished business.

As we go forward, we can take the core ideas the creators gave us and create a world we hold up our brothers and sisters rather than pushing them down. No matter who you are, or where you live, you are not alone. Why? Because…

I am also a we!

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑